What Can You Eat On A Gluten Free Diet?

May 16, 2010 by  
Filed under Gluten Free Eating Tips

Many people that are told by their doctor that they have to live the rest of lives on a gluten free diet. These people may feel as though they have been sentenced to some kind of punishment. This is due to the fact that so many foods contain gluten and are a big part of most peoples diets. What can you eat on a gluten free diet?

Some of the best foods out there do not contain gluten. You can also find many prepared foods that are manufactured without gluten that normally do contain it. Gluten is a protein that is in wheat. This protein is what is left when the starches have been taken out of the grains of wheat. Gluten is popular because it works so well as a binding agent.

Fresh meats that are not breaded are a good choice for a gluten free diet. Fruits are another great choice. Many foods like potatoes, rice, and fresh vegetables. Your diet does not have to be as limited as you might think because of the variety of foods that do not contain gluten.

Since there have been so many recent cases of Celiac reported, the business of manufacturing prepared foods that are gluten free is booming. This is great news because there will now be a huge variety of foods to choose from on store shelves that normally contained gluten. Make sure to always look for labeling indicating gluten free ingredients.

If you like sodas, you should know that most are safe from gluten with the exception of root beer. Great sweets like white sugar, brown sugar, and molasses do not contain gluten either. Foods like corn tortillas and hominy are safe for a gluten free diet as well. You may have to eat foods without gluten in them, but you will still many kinds of foods that you can still eat and remain pain free.

.........Read more »

The Truth Is Grains That Are Gluten Free Are Good For Your Diet

May 16, 2010 by  
Filed under Gluten Free Eating Tips

You want to make sure that you have a balanced diet. The people who are looking to improve their nutritional livelihood would consider buying these grains that are gluten free. You want to make sure that you check the nutritional facts on a sandwich for example in order to make sure that you are eating something safe.

A staffer at a grocery store should know the facts about gluten products incase you ask for it. The staffer should be very willing to help you find it. There are more and more of people who are needing to eat gluten free products because of a condition. The people need to eat this way so they live longer; conditions such as Coeliac disease will hurt the small intestine.

You can learn about these grains that are gluten free on internet or ask your doctor. You want to know what is good to be able to add these to the diet. There are many resources available to the public. These resources will provide ways to make foods similar to those with gluten.

There is no reason someone who needs to stay away from glucose cannot eat cake. There are special ingredients and yes, it may take more work, but it is possible. The more experience you have in making this food, the easier it will be to make.

The food manufacturers have been creating more grains that are gluten free because studies show more demand. If there is a demand for these items out there, then this demand needs to be met. There was a time when people died because of eating these foods when they were not suppose to do so. Now that conditions have been identified, food can be made to fit these needs. These people can eat foods knowing that it is safe for their body.

.........Read more »

Plan Ahead To Have Gluten Free Snacks On Hand

May 16, 2010 by  
Filed under Gluten Free Eating Tips

Having healthy gluten free snacks available can often be a challenge. Gluten runs rampant in many packaged snack foods, especially in many popular ones. However, there are a number of whole foods that make great snacks which are easily found, if you know what to look for. Here are a few ideas for items you can keep on hand that work quite well to satisfy those between meal cravings.

One of the most important concepts to keep in mind for gluten free diets is to plan ahead for possible hunger attacks. If a sudden craving should strike, the local convenience store or vending machine may not provide the foods you need. Be sure to keep some the following items in your food inventory at all times. All of these will need little or no preparation other than placing them in a bag or container when you expect to be on the go.

Fruits are one of the best gluten free snacks and come in a stunning variety of ways to eat them. Raw fruit is the easiest form and apples, oranges, pears or peaches are handy most of the time. However, fruit is best when it is fresh and sometimes storage can be a consideration. When keeping fruit for extended periods, such as at the office or at school, dried fruits are extremely portable. Canned fruit with pop top lids is also convenient and tasty.

Almonds, cashews, peanuts, mixed nuts or sunflower seeds can be bought in bulk for home use and put into zipper bags for traveling about. You can even make your own trail mix with your favorite assortment of nuts, raisins or other dried fruits and dark chocolate chips if desired. Small pretzels and cereals without gluten can be added as well. The variety here is virtually endless. Cheeses, boiled eggs and vegetables are also healthy and handy.

There are, of course, many prepared package items that you can purchase and keep nearby. Just be sure to read the labels carefully and make sure there are no ingredients that don’t fit your diet plan when stocking up on gluten free snacks.

.........Read more »

What Foods Can Be Eaten In Gluten Free Diets

May 16, 2010 by  
Filed under Gluten Free Eating Tips

Many people have to follow gluten free diets that are specified for Celiac disease. Having this disease means that your intestines cannot handle the protein gluten in wheat products. The intestines are greatly affected by the protein in that it causes severe inflammation in the intestinal lining, thus producing an environment that lessens the absorption of nutrients from any foods eaten.

Hundreds of food products contain gluten and for a variety of reasons. You can find, however, many of these foods that are labeled gluten free and are safe for consumption. Some foods that do include this protein are breads, cakes, cereals, some candies, gravies, processed lunch meats, and pastas. You can get a list of the kinds of foods you should avoid on gluten free diets in addition to these from your doctor.

While foods are the main culprit for containing gluten, you might be surprised to know that there are other products that also use it in their list of ingredients. Lipsticks, lip balms, play dough, and many brands of toothpaste contain it as well. You should pay close attention to the ingredients in all the products you plan to use.

If you have trouble tolerating gluten, you should know that there a lot of foods that you can eat without the worry of symptoms arising. Fresh meats, fruits, potatoes, rice, and many dairy products do not contain gluten and can make a large portion of a healthy diet. There are also becoming available many foods that are being made as gluten free that normally contain it. Look for these kinds of products that are labeled as gluten free.

To be on the safe side, you should talk to your doctor about what kind of multivitamin would be safe for people on gluten free diets to ensure that you are getting all the essential vitamins and minerals that you need. Make sure to ask the doctor first because some pills are formulated with gluten as a binding agent.

.........Read more »

Do You Know What Foods Are Gluten Free?

May 16, 2010 by  
Filed under Gluten Free Eating Tips

If you have to watch out for those foods that contain gluten from wheat, do you know what foods are gluten free? There are a lot of foods that do not contain gluten and do not have to be prepared in kind of special way. This is great news for those that thought they had to make great limits in their diet to remain symptom free.

One of the choices you have for foods that do not contain gluten is that of fresh meats. The only thing you will need to be careful of is the breading that many people use in preparing some meats. You can go online and find many recipes for preparing fresh meats with breading substitutes.

If you are stuck on trying to figure out what foods are gluten free for your snacks then you will have no kind of limits with fresh fruits. There are numerous choices available from apples to passions fruit. You should make it a point to shop frequently at fresh markets that have some of the best choices in fresh fruits. You may also have no limits when it comes to fresh vegetables either. Making a trip to a fresh produce market can mean that you take home plenty of foods that are not only really good for you but also gluten free.

Just because you are not allowed to have gluten in your diet does not mean that you cannot satisfy that sweet tooth. White and brown sugars are gluten free. While the flour generally used for cakes and cookies does have gluten, you can also go online and find recipes for flour substitutes that work well for making some delicious sweet treats.

You can also have many dairy products while avoiding gluten. Ice cream and yogurt are two favorites that you can have plenty of. For all the products that you buy that are already prepared, always make sure to check the labeling to make sure they are indeed gluten free.

So, if you want to discover what foods are gluten free, you have only to stick to those which don’t have wheat!

.........Read more »

What Are Some Delicious Gluten Free Desserts?

May 16, 2010 by  
Filed under Gluten Free Eating Tips

People that have trouble with Celiac disease and gluten intolerance cannot eat foods that contain it at all. Many people feel deprived of some of the tastiest kinds of foods because they are afflicted with this condition. However, there some really great and delicious gluten free desserts that can be eaten by those that suffer with gluten intolerance.

Gluten is most flours that are used in making breads, cakes, and cookies. This would mean that those foods would be off limits to those that have trouble tolerating it. However, there are alternatives to the flour that contains gluten. There are some products that are made with gluten free ingredients that you can buy ready made, but you must make sure to read the labels of all the food that you plan to eat.

Consider being able to eat chocolate cake without worrying about getting abdominal cramps and diarrhea after wards. You can make flour that is a perfect substitute for wheat flour. It contains one quarter cup of soy flour, one quarter cup of tapioca flour, and one half cup of brown rice flour. This mixture can be used in place of wheat flour in most recipes and is a good basis for your favorite gluten free desserts.

Gluten is the ingredient that makes bread stick together during baking. Without it, you would have a pile of crumbs when you bite into a slice of bread. You can also have a substitute that will have the same results in the mixed flour as well. Xantham gum and Guar gum are two ingredients that work great in the place of gluten. You can find these at most health food stores.

You can search online and find some great gluten free desserts. Chocolate mousse cake, coconut muffins, and cheesecake cupcakes are only a few of those kinds of great tasting sweet treats that will not hurt those that have intolerance to gluten.

.........Read more »

Start Your Day With A Gluten Free Breakfast

May 16, 2010 by  
Filed under Gluten Free Eating Tips

Gluten sensitivity plagues many people, causing them to be forced to stop eating certain foods which contain flour. Gluten is one of the important active ingredients in flour, affecting the rising capacity of the flour and also its weight as an ingredient. With the morning meal being the most important a gluten free breakfast is possible for those people with this sensitivity.

Most commercial breakfast cereals contain flour of some sort and therefore contain some form of gluten. Cereals advertising rice or oats often contain wheat flour. Ingredient labels must be checked to ensure that you avoid gluten products. With the advent of healthier products, gluten-free cereals may be more easily found than in the past.

Health food stores routinely carry a wide selection of gluten free items which may be adapted for the breakfast meal. In addition to gluten free pastas, cookies and pizza crusts for use later in the eating day, they feature gluten free breads, cereals and pastries. These are delicious when served with fruits or eggs. It is also possible to find gluten free food at the regular store if you remember to stay away from items containing any wheat flour.

Natural products such as dairy products, fruits, vegetables, meats and eggs are free from gluten in their pure states. These products have not been combined with flour. Breakfast meats likewise have not been joined with flour products so all these items are perfect for a gluten free breakfast.

Examples of a tasty gluten free breakfast might include a gluten free cereal topped with fresh fruit and accompanied by gluten free toast or a muffin, or breakfast meat with eggs and a gluten free pastry. A cheese-and-mushroom omelet with gluten-free English muffins is another nutritious offering. If gluten free foods are required for you, there are many food choices available if you look a little harder.

Gluten may easily be avoided as a breakfast ingredient if you choose your menu items with care. Carefully reading ingredient lists is an excellent way of being certain that gluten is not in your foods. It is possible to have a delicious, balanced meal while at the same time avoiding gluten-containing products.

.........Read more »