What Can You Eat On A Gluten Free Diet?
Many people that are told by their doctor that they have to live the rest of lives on a gluten free diet. These people may feel as though they have been sentenced to some kind of punishment. This is due to the fact that so many foods contain gluten and are a big part of most peoples diets. What can you eat on a gluten free diet?
Some of the best foods out there do not contain gluten. You can also find many prepared foods that are manufactured without gluten that normally do contain it. Gluten is a protein that is in wheat. This protein is what is left when the starches have been taken out of the grains of wheat. Gluten is popular because it works so well as a binding agent.
Fresh meats that are not breaded are a good choice for a gluten free diet. Fruits are another great choice. Many foods like potatoes, rice, and fresh vegetables. Your diet does not have to be as limited as you might think because of the variety of foods that do not contain gluten.
Since there have been so many recent cases of Celiac reported, the business of manufacturing prepared foods that are gluten free is booming. This is great news because there will now be a huge variety of foods to choose from on store shelves that normally contained gluten. Make sure to always look for labeling indicating gluten free ingredients.
If you like sodas, you should know that most are safe from gluten with the exception of root beer. Great sweets like white sugar, brown sugar, and molasses do not contain gluten either. Foods like corn tortillas and hominy are safe for a gluten free diet as well. You may have to eat foods without gluten in them, but you will still many kinds of foods that you can still eat and remain pain free.