What Foods Can Be Eaten In Gluten Free Diets
Many people have to follow gluten free diets that are specified for Celiac disease. Having this disease means that your intestines cannot handle the protein gluten in wheat products. The intestines are greatly affected by the protein in that it causes severe inflammation in the intestinal lining, thus producing an environment that lessens the absorption of nutrients from any foods eaten.
Hundreds of food products contain gluten and for a variety of reasons. You can find, however, many of these foods that are labeled gluten free and are safe for consumption. Some foods that do include this protein are breads, cakes, cereals, some candies, gravies, processed lunch meats, and pastas. You can get a list of the kinds of foods you should avoid on gluten free diets in addition to these from your doctor.
While foods are the main culprit for containing gluten, you might be surprised to know that there are other products that also use it in their list of ingredients. Lipsticks, lip balms, play dough, and many brands of toothpaste contain it as well. You should pay close attention to the ingredients in all the products you plan to use.
If you have trouble tolerating gluten, you should know that there a lot of foods that you can eat without the worry of symptoms arising. Fresh meats, fruits, potatoes, rice, and many dairy products do not contain gluten and can make a large portion of a healthy diet. There are also becoming available many foods that are being made as gluten free that normally contain it. Look for these kinds of products that are labeled as gluten free.
To be on the safe side, you should talk to your doctor about what kind of multivitamin would be safe for people on gluten free diets to ensure that you are getting all the essential vitamins and minerals that you need. Make sure to ask the doctor first because some pills are formulated with gluten as a binding agent.